Burbank Council PTA Honorary Service Awards Announced

By On April 17, 2015

The Burbank Council PTA held its 65th annual Honorary Service Awards banquet Wednesday evening, April 15, at The Castaway. Teachers, parents, principals and staff from the Burbank Unified School District were recognized for their service. The PTA Council award was presented to Steve Frintner, PTA Council President, and Burbank Arts For All Foundation (BAFA.)

“The awards are given out to recipients who have made contributions toward improving the lives of children in our community,” commented event Chairperson Brenda Burroughs.

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

Burbank Mayor Dr. David Gordon, Vice Mayor Bob Frutos and City Clerk Zizette Mullins attended the gala. The BUSD Board of Education was also present, including Board President Dr. Roberta Reynolds, Vice President Charlene Tabet, Larry Applebaum, Ted Bunch and Dave Kemp, along with school board member-elect Steve Ferguson.

Burbank Unified district staff were present: Superintendent Dr. Jan Britz, Assistant Superintendent of Instructional Services Tom Kissinger, Assistant Superintendent of Administrative Services David Jaynes and Director of Instruction and Accountability Sharon Cuseo.

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

Additionally, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent/Public Information Officer Kimberley Clark, Director of Student Services  Dr. Brian O’Rourke, Director of Human Resources Anita Schackmann and Director of Secondary Education Dr. John Paramo were there, along with members of BAFA, the Family Service Agency and school principals and PTA presidents.

The John Burroughs Jazz Combo and the Burbank Sirens performed and Boy Scout Troop 263 gave the Flag Salute.

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

Honorary Service Awards Recipients for 2015, including Continuing Service, Outstanding Teacher, Outstanding Administrator, Golden Oak and Very Special Person, were:

Walt Disney – Amanda Ybarra HSA, Christopher Luckenbach  HSA

Thomas Edison – Sindee DeJesus HSA, Frank DeJesus HSA, Deanna Holloway HSA, Joanna Peresie HSA

Emerson – Ginger Hartman OTA, Maryanne O’Brien OTA, Christine Molaro CSA, Pam Paterra GOA, Arne Pearson OTA

Bret Harte – Elisa Hemingway HSA, Julie Davis HSA, Lesli Bjork HSA, Lucila O’Neil HSA, Shannon Marando HSA

Jefferson – Gisela Grigorian HSA, Erica Bootchk HSA, Sandra DeBarros OAA

McKinley – Sandra Johnson HSA, Elizabeth Roth HSA, John Bresee Hsa, Paul Thiemann VSP (in memoriam)

Miller – Zara Gomez HSA

Providencia- Jennifer Casper HSA, Suzanne Dixon HSA, Jerry Earwood HSA

Roosevelt – Mina Ferrante HSA, Jen Lurie HSA,  Chris Hobson HSA, Dr. Jennifer Meglemre OAA

Stevenson – Lana Wilson HSA, Linda Strong OTA, Celia Chapman HSA

Washington – Adriana Chavez HSA, Eric Ray HSA, Moises Marroquin HSA, Joidie Coquia CSA, Judy Crivelli VSP

Luther Burbank – Brandon Mullins HSA, Jenifer Coderko HSA

Jordan – Crystal Smiecinski OTA, Doreen Wydra CSA, Suzanne Weerts CSA

John Muir – Kelly Duenckel HSA, Leslie Hawa HSA, Ted DeVirgilis OTA

Burbank High – Michele Betton OTA, Brooks Gardner OTA, Ann Gardner HSA, Lori Roth VSP,  Jose Vasquez HSA

John Burroughs – Winnie Cascolan HSA, Tina McDermott HSA