Burbank Detective Jeff Lamoureaux Recipient Of The Rex Andrews Police Scholar Award From Rotary Club



On hand to honor Rex Andrews Award winner Det. Jeff Lamoureaux, are from left, Police Chief Scott LaChasse, Mayor Jess Talamantes, Det. Lamoureaux, and Rotary Club President Jonathan Taylor.

In 1994, the Rotary Club of Burbank began presenting the annual “Rex Andrews Police Scholar Award” in memory of Rotarian and former Police Chief Rex Andrews.  Chief Andrews was among the first police administrators to recognize the benefit of formal education for police officers, and to encourage education, along with integrity and professionalism, in law enforcement.

Applicants for the award are required to meet the following minimum criteria:

  • Be a full-time, sworn employee of the Burbank Police Department
  • Possess or be eligible for a Basic POST Certificate (or higher)
  • Have completed six (6) or more semester units or an equivalent number of quarter units of college credit in the previous calendar year
  • Have maintained a grade point average of 3.0 or higher (“A” =4 points) for all college courses completed in the previous calendar year

The Burbank Rotary Foundation’s “Rex Andrews Police Scholar Award” consists of a certificate, and placement of their name on a perpetual plaque to be maintained at the police station.

    BurCal Apartments8715