Burbank Pauses to Observe Flag Day

Old Glory (Photo by Ross A. Benson)
The citizens of Burbank had the opportunity to observe Flag Day on June 14, along with “Pause for the Pledge of Allegiance” thanks to the efforts of the Kiwanis Club of Burbank.

Kiwanis Club members began the annual observance back in 1996, when they held a ceremony on the steps of City Hall. This year the program was held on the “Championship Court” at the Burbank Tennis Center located in McCambridge Park  Sam Engle, Sr. served as master of ceremonies for the event, which included a number of Kiwanis dignitaries, as well as Burbank Mayor Dave Golonski.

Adding a musical note to the program was the Burbank Community Band. Band members performed a half-hour long concert of patriotic music befitting the occasion.  The band was led by conductor Paulette Westphal.

This was followed by a presentation of the student winners in the patriotic art and photo contest that the Kiwanis club sponsored for student in Burbanks public and parochial schools.

Elementry school winner in grades 3-5, were Tyler Jenkins, Kendall Jensen, Dylan Mahoney, Emma Molloy, and Joshua Treviso.

Middle school winners were Alex Lawson, Cynthia Lopez, Cameron Marsden, Emity Molina, and Michael Serrano.

High school art winners were Dallar Babayan, Tiffany Garcia, Georgina Grkikian, and Arturo Gutienez.

High school photo winners were Noah Breakman, Ariana Castro, Sarah Ghezzi, Cassandra Herrera, and Nikki Jew.

Computer enhanced photo winners were Nicole Beer, Brittany Lewis, Anna Mirabal, Danielle Perry-Kellier, and Sarah Schwartz

Members of Boy Scout Troop 204 performed their nationally acclaimed Historic Flag Ceremony. The troop is sponsored by the Burbank Kiwanis Club. The audience joined in as every receited the Pleadge of Allegiance to the flag. The program concluded with the singing of the Nation Anthem.


Patriotic Art contest winners from the Elementary Schools. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)


Winners of the Computer Enhanced Photos. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)


Winners of the Higth Schools Photo Division. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)


Winner of the High School Art Division. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)




San Engle, Sr. and Harvey Branman from Kiwanis Club of Burbank check out the First Place Photo from Cassandra Herrera of Burrough. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)