Burbank Tournament of Roses “Floats” Their Way to Success

Incoming Burbank Tournament of Roses 2013 Board & Directors. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)
Getting presented their Mayor's Award by Pasadena T of R President Sally Bixby, last years Burbank T of R President Robert Hutt and Burbank Mayor Jess Talamantes. ( Photo by Ross A. Benson )

The Burbank Tournament of Roses Association (BTORA) celebrated another triumphant year at their Awards and Installation of Officers and Directors Banquet last Saturday evening at the Little White Chapel.

For four of the past five years, Rose Parade viewers have seen BTORA floats garner major awards:

  • 2012 Rose Parade: “The Dream Machine” float won the Mayor’s Trophy for the most outstanding float by a city.
  • 2011 Rose Parade: “Centennial Celebration” float won the Founder’s Trophy for the most beautiful entry decorated by volunteers from the sponsoring community or organization.
  • 2010 Rose Parade: “Barnyard Aces” float won The Animation Trophy for best animation and motion.
  • 2008 Rose Parade: “Oktoberfest” float won the  Founder’s Trophy.

In earlier years, BTORA floats have also won the Queen’s Trophy, Bob Hope Humor Award, Pioneer Trophy and Builder of the Year Award.

Sally Bixby, 2012 President of the Pasadena Tournament of Roses Association, made a formal presentation of the 2012 Mayor’s Trophy at the banquet. She praised the BTORA members for their “passion and dedication”.

Mayor Jess Talamantes with Incoming and outgoing Presidents along with council members Emily Gabel - Luddy and Dr. David Gordan. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)

Burbank Mayor Jess Talamantes conducted the installation of BTORA’s 2012 Officers and Directors:

Ginny Barnett—President

Ricky Batt—VP Administration

Steve Edward—VP Float

Robin Hanna—Treasurer

Jon Reeves—Secretary

BTORA Directors include Erik Andersen, Linda Cozakos, Bob Ford, John Hames, Jeff Helgager, Ron Hughes, Dr. Suresh Iyengar and Janet Diel (City Liaison).  They will be rolling up their sleeves to begin work on the 2013 float, which will feature a whimsical underwater theme.

Pasadena Tournament of Roses President Sally Bixby. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)

Robert Hutt, outgoing 2011 BTORA President, expressed his deep appreciation to his directors and the entire BTORA organization for another great year, as well as his appreciation for the ongoing support of the City of Burbank and the community.

Council members Emily Gabel-Luddy and Dr. David Gordon were also on hand to congratulate BTORA on their outstanding efforts. In a letter to BTORA,  43rd District State Assemblyman Mike Gatto called attention to “the positive and lasting difference “ BTORA has made to the Tournament of Roses and Burbank.

Incoming Burbank Tournament of Roses 2013 Board & Directors. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)


A cake was made with last years winning float. (Photo by Ross A. Benson)
    BurCal Apartments8715