Tag Archives: Sayda Hartoonian

Burbank Police Officers Association Give Out Scholarships In Honor Of Matthew Pavelka

Photo By Ross A. Benson

The Matthew Pavelka Endowment Fund was established after Officer Pavelka was tragically murdered on November 15, 2003.  In that one instance of brutal gun violence, an entire community was devastated.  Less than 24 hours after the incident, Burbank’s unbelievable generosity began to pour in.  The businesses and residents of Burbank, and the surrounding communities’ kindness and support was overwhelming.

Burbank Police Officer Matthew Pavelka who was tragically murdered on November 15, 2003.

Officer Matthew Pavelka’s parents, Mike and Sue Pavelka, graciously requested the endowment fund be used to promote the building of future leaders. There was never a question as to the career path that Officer Matthew Pavelka would follow. After high school, he joined the Air Force, only because he was too young to enroll in a police academy. He served for five years as a military policeman, received an associate of arts degree in criminal justice, and was intent on further pursuing his education in his chosen field. Matthew Pavelka was remembered by more than one of his fellow officers as a charming, light-hearted 26-year-old, with a crown of spiky orange hair, who loved being a cop.

Continue reading

Burbank Board Of Realtors Gives Scholarships To Deserving High School Seniors

Photo By Ross A. Benson

The Burbank Board of Realtors recently handed out several scholarships to local students which were presented before the realtors went on their caravan this past week. The Burbank Board of Realtors Community Service foundation consisted of President Chris Habitz with committee members Sharon Fane, Saverio Flcocelli, Alisa Cunningham, Marion Chase, and Committee Chair Karen Volpei. The students from Bellermine Jefferson, Providence High School, Burbank Adult School, Burbank and Burroughs High schools that received monetary awards were Sayda Hartoonian,  Rita Khatchadourian,  Cindy Wee,   Ariana Crane,  Tanner Marx, Griselda Orozco, Jeremy Labertew, not pictured are Niko Africano and  James Oh.