Burbank Commissioner Bill Wiggins Elected President of Airport Authority Commission

(Photo by Ross A. Benson)

On Monday, July 11, 2016, the Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport Authority, owner and operator of Hollywood Burbank Airport, elected new officers to head the Authority Commission for a one-year term from July 2016 through June 2017. The Commission elects officers each July.

Burbank Commissioner Bill Wiggins was elected President. Commissioner Terry Tornek of Pasadena was elected Vice President, and Commissioner Zareh Sinanyan of Glendale was chosen Secretary.

Wiggins was appointed to the Authority in 2001 and served as Secretary, Vice President and President during his tenure. Tornek was first appointed to the Commission in 2012 and served as Secretary this last term. Sinanyan was appointed to the Commission in May 2015.

In related actions, the Authority appointed Pasadena Commissioner Dr. Ross Selvidge as Treasurer, Burbank Commissioner Ray Adams as Auditor, and Executive Director Dan Feger as Assistant Secretary, and left intact the existing assignments for the various Authority committees.

President Wiggins also created a new Ad Hoc Committee, comprised of Commissioners Brown, Sinanyan and Selvidge, to oversee the negotiations for a renewal of the Airport Police collective bargaining agreement.

The Burbank-Glendale-Pasadena Airport Authority is a joint powers authority formed by the three cities to own and operate the Hollywood Burbank Airport. The Airport Authority is governed by a nine-member Commission, and each of the three cities appoints three Commissioners to the panel.

In addition to the officers, the other current Commissioners are: Don Brown of Burbank; Frank Quintero and Laura Friedman of Glendale; and Steve Madison of Pasadena.